The 2019 "Talk with a Teen Girl” High Tea


Sponsored by:


Thank you Sponsors 

2019 Crittenton High Tea 18 300

Crittenton Services of Greater Washington hosted the 2019 Talk with a Teen Girl High Tea on Thursday, April 25th, 2019 at the Silver Spring Civic Center. As one hundred teen girls and 100 adult guests came together for a conversation on issues ranging from building a successful 21st Century career to combating gender-based stereotypes and sexual harassment.

The program kickoff with a VIDEO that highlighted Crittenton’s Leadership Summit – April 19-21st. Former long-time Anchor for WUSA9 and special guest host for this year’s Tea, Andrea Roane, welcomed teen girls and adults alike. Throughout the morning, guests learned more about Crittenton programs and their impact directly from the teen girl participants.

The heart of the High Tea happens during the thoughtful table conversations between adults and Crittenton teens.  It gives teen girls an opportunity to share their views on the challenges they face while also showcasing their leadership and advocacy skills.

See Our Gallery

The High Tea serves a dual role as an important moment where Crittenton’s annual Education scholarships are presented to Crittenton teens for their leadership and academic achievement.

Stacy Burnette, Senior Director, Government & Regulatory Affairs at Comcast Cable, presented our scholarships this year. She shared, “It was an honor to present this year’s scholarships. Each Crittenton winner inspired me with their hard work. Congratulations to all.”

The 2019 Crittenton Scholarship Award Winners:

Sarah P. McBride and Paul E. Kovar Scholarship Winner

Ingrid Carranza (Freshman, Montgomery College; SNEAKERS Alumna ‘18)

Kate Waller Barrett Scholarship Winners

Jennifer Castillo-Burgos, SNEAKERS Program, Kennedy High School, Montgomery County

Mirna Cruz, PEARLS Program, Blair High School, Montgomery County

Aniyah Lester, PEARLS Program, Ballou High School, District of Columbia

Nettitia Mack, SNEAKERS Program, Ballou High School, District of Columbia

Scholarship Winners 750

Throughout the High Tea, more than a dozen Crittenton teens took on various roles ranging from speakers to greeters – making the High Tea a truly “girl-led event.” Teens selected the topic of domestic human trafficking to spotlight how its impact on young people in our community is more prevalent and devastating than one might think. Each powerful speaker had completed Crittenton’s leadership training and now serves as an Ambassador for Crittenton and their fellow teen girls.

2019 Crittenton High Tea 31 300High Tea Teen Speakers:

SNEAKERS: Tasia, Dunbar High School

PEARLS: Erica, Gaithersburg High School

Goal Setting Girls: Shylvine, Gaithersburg High School

Leadership Summit: Rena, HD Woodson High School

Issues Facing Teen Girls: Nasirah, HD Woodson High School

Call to Action: Chontel, Dunbar High School

Giving Thanks: Frehiwot and Leinayiah, Kennedy High School

Crittenton Greeters:

Sascha, Dunbar High School; Ana, Gaithersburg High School; Yanica, Gaithersburg High School; Cherly, Gaithersburg High School; Jackeline, Kennedy High School; Tamia, Kelly Miller Middle School.

The 2019 Talk with a Teen Girl could not have happened without the support and commitment of our partners, parents, public officials, and our sponsors.

high tea sponsor pdf

In attendance were a combination of business leaders and public officials including our lead sponsors - DC Health, AT&T, and Comcast.

Also able to join us were Jennifer Porter – Director, the Mayor's Office on Women’s Policy and Initiatives; Jennifer Nelson Davis – DCPS Office of Equity – Social Emotional Academic Development; Veronica Urquilla – HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis, STD, and TB Administration at the DC Department of Health; Tecia Sellers and Letitia Winston from the DC Department of Health, Community Health Administration; Montgomery County Councilmember, Gabe Albornoz – Montgomery County Council; Karla Silvestre, member of the Montgomery County School Board; Cindy Dyballa, Kacy Kostiuk, Peter Kovar, and Jarrett Smith – Councilmembers, Takoma Park City Council; Pamela Luckett – representing Montgomery County Councilmember, Will Jawando; Arlee Wallace from the Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services; and Crittenton Leadership Honorees, Gloria Blackwell, 2014 and LaTara Harris, 2017 (Current Crittenton Board Chair).

All Girls Shot 750